LOST!

Another prompt from Author S B Mazing for Blog Event #21. Thank you Author S B Mazing!

She checked again. It has to be in there! It was the third time she went through her purse.
“I really need to see your passport!”
She could hear how impatient he was getting. It has to be in here. It was when she left. And now it seemed to have disappeared.
Please continue…

She took a deep breath. Where to look next? And what could she do if she lost it. “I . . . I don’t know where it is,” she stammered. “It has disappeared.”

“Step over here, please,” the agent said in an angry voice.

She did as he said. Frustrated with herself and frightened, she plunged her free hand into the deep pocket of her jacket. Her fingers jammed against something hard. She frowned and pulled it out. My passport. She breathed a sigh of relief. I put it in my pocket in the rush and forgot it was there! How often have I told herself to be more careful. Memories of finding her driver’s license in her pocket flashed before her.

“Sir,” she called in a timid voice. “I found it.”

The agent turned and looked at her, then glowered. “You found it?”

“I was in a rush and stuck it in my pocket. I never keep it there, but things got away from me.” She held it out.

The agent took it from her hand. He examined it and then stamped it. His voice was harsh. “You are free to go, but I would suggest you use more care next time.”

She nodded. “Thank you.” She carefully opened her purse and put it in,  zippering the compartment carefully. As she left the line, she smiled and nodded. The agent rolled his eyes ane shook his head as he turned to the next person in line.

“My mother will never believe this,” she muttered as she went on her way. “Second thought, she probably would. It’s like that old saying, ‘The apple never falls far from the tree.’ ”

9 thoughts on “LOST!

      1. Oh my… I’m so glad that my husband is always in charge of the passports… I would probably “lose” it in my purse… and then get all crazy because I would think I’ve lost it or forgot it and the entire time it would just sit there… That would so totally be me…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

