Free Style Writing Challenge

Thanks, Julie, from light and life, for the inviting me to be part of the Free Style Writing Challenge. It has taken me far to long to settle down to do it, but here it is.
Here are the cut-and-pasted rules:
Open an MS Word document (or Pages)
1. Set a stop watch or your mobile to 5 minutes or 10 minutes whichever challenge you think you can beat. (Not sure what that meant so I just set the timer for 10)
2. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH A TIMER.
3. Fill the word doc with as many words as you want. Once you began writing do not stop even to turn.
4. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spellings and grammar with spell check in MS WORD (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)
5. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation and capitals. However, if you do, it would be best.
6. At the end of your post write down ‘No. Of words =_____’ so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
7. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new Topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nominations (at least 5 bloggers).

The topic I had to write about: WHEN I WAS PROUDEST OF MYSELF

The time I was proudest of myself. I guess that’s when I discovered my poem, “The Difference” was being published. It was under the name “anonymous” because it had somehow escaped the small poem book my husband and I had put together and sold on consignment at a Christian bookstore. The book was for a printing class and it was the project my husband and I had taken together. We had chosen it because I had several poems I had written—many, in fact—and we needed a project for our class. It worked out well. My husband chose some paper for the cover, which was very nice.

Twenty years later, we found the poem in book had been published under “author anonymous.” It was quite a surprise. We had copyrighted the book and so we were able to contact the people who were using it to let them know I was the author of that poem. Several large companies had printed bookmarks, plaques, among other things, and when they acknowledged that I was the author, they gave me a royalty on what they had sold.

Selling poetry is not easy. There is a lot of poetry out there and it sells to not a lot of people. However, one man who worked for an art company got hold of me and asked if he could use it if he gave me a royalty in advance. I said yes. He sent the paper work and I signed it. I received the check and the future royalty sales of that poem were taken out of the advance. He had a beautiful picture with it, which went along with the poem so well. It was a large stone altar on one side of the poem and a door on the other. It looked so beautiful. And he put my name on it!

Actually, to say I was proud of myself was not quite the way to say it. I was blessed, proud that God could use what I wrote to bless others. Many said they were blessed by it.

I was not able to sell more of my poems because I was not well known, but to know that I was a blessing to others, even though unknown, was neat.

Number of words: 379

The Difference
“The Difference” poem on poster, picture by Raymond Greenberg Art Publishing

The words for THE DIFFERENCE:

I got up early one morning
and rushed right into the day.
I had so much to accomplish
that I didn’t take time to pray.

Troubles just tumbled about me,
and heavier came each task.
“Why doesn’t God help me?” I wondered.
He answered, “You didn’t ask.”

I wanted to see joy and beauty,
but the day toiled on, gray and bleak.
I wondered why God didn’t show me.
He said, “But you didn’t seek.”

I tried to come into God’s presence.
I tried all the keys in the lock.
God gently and lovingly chided,
“But child, you didn’t knock.”

I woke up early this morning,
and paused before entering the day.
I had so much to accomplish
that I had to take time to pray.

Now it’s the turn of my five worthy opponents:
good woman
spencesgirl
all about cheryl
Friendly Fairy Tales
send sunshine
set your timer and scroll down:
 
scroll
 
scroll
 
scroll
 

Your topic: A time you had victory over a problem or fear

6 thoughts on “Free Style Writing Challenge

  1. Thank you for including me! I feel honored that you would challenge me. I’m afraid I have to decline to do it, though, as tomorrow is Poetry Friday and my daughter has a half-day in school, and I just don’t have time. I still haven’t written my poem. I like your story of the poem that became art and inspiration for many. It’s a lovely poem. XOXO, Brenda

    Liked by 2 people

  2. OH MY WORD! [forgive me for shouting] I just got chills. You wrote the poem Difference? I learned that poem in Sabbath School as girl, I did not remember all the words but enough to throw me back in time of that community [now that things are different]. This is just beautiful and heart warming for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

