WHERE I LIVED WHEN I WAS 12 YEARS OLD

Challenge for day 11 for Writing 101: Size Matters (in sentences). Today’s Prompt: Where did you live when you were 12 years old? Today’s twist: pay attention to your sentence lengths and use short, medium, and long sentences as you compose your response about the home you lived in when you were twelve.

The Sonora desert. Usually it isn’t considered a beautiful place. At 12, I did not think about Tucson, Arizona, being beautiful, but  I grew to love it, including heat, tarantulas, scorpions, and all the other things that inhabited the desert. We had moved there because of Mama’s asthma. We had lived in Michigan. The doctor said, “You need to move to a dry climate if you want to live.” So my family of six moved. And Mama grew well there.

In Tucson, we enjoyed 350 sunny days a year. We were surrounded by five different mountain ranges: Tucson, Santa Catalina, Rincon, Santa Rita and Tortolita. They ranged in heights from over 4,000 feet to over 9,000 feet high. It was amazing to look outside and see these majestic mountains towering all around.

Saguaro cactus
Saguaro cactus, Arizona

 

Our family spent more than one afternoon having lunch in the foothills, surrounded by the cacti that reminded us of sentinels, guarding the road and mountain,

looking down Mt. Lemon
Tucson from Mt. Lemon

 

 

 

Or stopping on the drive up one of the mountains in the chain to view the city far below.

How I missed the desert and those lovely mountains when I moved. I’m not glad my mother was sick.  I am glad her illness took us to Tucson, Arizona.

2 thoughts on “WHERE I LIVED WHEN I WAS 12 YEARS OLD

Leave a Reply

