Christmas and Family

 

Merry Christmas greeting
I went to my younger daughter’s place for Christmas–well not quite Christmas. I came back Christmas eve because they were going to my son’s-in-law family for Christmas. His sweet mother invited me to come along and share Christmas with them, but I decided it would be nice to spend Christmas at home with my sister and her husband.

Monday the six of us (daughter and 4 grandchildren and me) went to my older daughter’s house (about 2 hrs away) and visit her and her 3 boys. It was a full house with two sons of a friend of hers visiting for a couple days. Nine children, ages 14, 13, 11, 10, 10, 10, 8, 7, 5, made a full house. We were blessed that God sent a really nice day and all but the 14 year old ran around outside.  What a good day! It  was nice to have my daughters visit and to see their children together!

There was a lot this week to keep my mind off missing my mom this Christmas. It was neat time, though I was glad to get back last night to my own bed and the quiet!

I give thanks for this season.  I am thankful for the fun, good things, like family. But when the times are not good, the Christmas message gives me peace and hope. When someone loves me enough to leave His kingdom to come to earth to die to satisfy His justice and extend mercy, it shows I can trust Him to act in love in my life, even in the “negative” things. And so, as Christmas day winds down, I am left with the Christmas message for all of my days. I hope all my readers are experiencing the joy and peace of this Christmas message!

MESSIAH HAS COME

In the shadows of the night
the heavens burst forth in glorious light.
Angels proclaimed Messiah had come,
peace on earth, death’s power done.
God incarnate, sent from heaven,
gift of love to women, men
to set us free from evil’s hold,
free to live, to sing, rejoice,
free to live beyond myself,
free in peace’s sweet hold to dwell.
©2011

 

One thought on “Christmas and Family

Leave a Reply

